Cartoon exhibition at The Hague City Hall
New cartoonist: Tomaso Marcolla

European Cartoon Award 2022

EU-and-Belarus-Janssen-scaled-e1633506960762The 2021 winner, 'EU and Belarus', by Tom Janssen (The Netherlands)

From May 9 to June 20, 2022, cartoonists can submit their work for the third edition of the European Cartoon Award. Submitted cartoons must have been realized between January 1, 2021, and May 9, 2022, and published with a media outlet from a country within the Council of Europe, Belarus, and Russia. Founded in 2019, by the European Press Prize and Studio Europa Maastricht, the European Cartoon Award has one of the highest monetary prizes for cartoonists, granting its winner a prize of 10,000 euros.

The cartoons can be submitted at

The European Cartoon Award was founded in 2019 by European Press Prize and Studio Europa Maastricht to encourage cartoonists in their essential work for freedom of expression.


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been saved. Comments are moderated and will not appear until approved by the author. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.


Post a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until the author has approved them.

Your Information

(Name and email address are required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)