Previous month:
September 2020
Next month:
November 2020

Anne Derenne wins European Cartoon Award


We are incredibly proud to announce that Anne Derenne has won the first edition of the European Cartoon Award, with a cartoon published on Cartoon Movement in May 2019.

Judges Janet H. Anderson, Ramsés Morales Izquierdo and Simone Berghuys applaud Derenne for the simple and strong message the cartoon sends, as well as the clever illustration. “The cartoon demonstrates the intensity of the game we are playing.” 

Runners-up of the European Cartoon Award are both Joep Bertrams and Ruben L. Oppenheimer. Joep Bertrams with his cartoon “The Vatican” and Ruben L. Oppenheimer with his cartoon “Lonely Boris”, both published in De Limburger. Judges laud Bertrams for the well-illustrated image and clear message and Oppenheimer for the depth of the picture it paints, one of loneliness and lack of direction.


The European Cartoon Award was founded by Studio Europa Maastricht and the European Press Prize in 2019; the year the New York Times decided to stop running editorial cartoons. Studio Europa Maastricht and the European Press Prize aim to award courage and quality and provoke conversation on the topic of Europe.