Political cartoons versus memes

Winners of World Press Cartoon

WPCThe winners, with screenshots of their publication on Cartoon Movement, showing the website before our relaunch this summer.

This weekend, the winners of the world’s most prestigious cartoon competition, World Press Cartoon, were announced. We are delighted that two of the winners are cartoonists whose work was published on Cartoon Movement.

Our congratulations to Halit Kurtulmus Aytoslu for winning the first prize in the category editorial cartoon with this cartoon published on Cartoon Movement in 2019. And also to Pedro Silva for winning third prize in the category caricature for his brilliant depiction of Christine Lagarde.

You can see all the winners on the website of World Press Cartoon. You might see some other names you know from our website, such as Ant, Pedro X. Molina, Marilena Nardi and Dario Castillejos. It strengthens our belief that in 10 years, we have managed to build a community of many of the world’s best cartoonists.


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been saved. Comments are moderated and will not appear until approved by the author. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.


Post a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until the author has approved them.

Your Information

(Name and email address are required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)