New Cartoonist: Paolo Calleri
New Cartoonist: Glen Le Lievre

World Press Cartoon 2018

World Press Cartoon 2018

On June 2, the awards were announced for the 13th edition of World Press Cartoon in Portugal. We are extremely proud that a number of our cartoonists were among the prize winners, most notably Italian cartoonist Marilena Nardi, who received the Grand Prize. She is the first woman to receive this honor.

Other winners from the Cartoon Movement network include Luc Descheemaeker who won first prize in the category Caricature, and Cau Gomez who received second prize in the category Editorial Cartoon. In the category Gag Cartoon Mello won second prize and Fadi Abou Hassan won third prize. This year was the first year that cartoons appearing in online publications were allowed, and we are extra proud that the cartoon by Fadi Abou Hassan was one published on Cartoon Movement.

Congrats to the winners! To see them all, visit the WPC website.


Gran Prize - Marilena Nardi



First prize Caricature - Luc Descheemaeker



Second prize Editorial Cartoon - Cau Gomez



Second prize Gag cartoon - Mello



Third prize Gag cartoon - Fadi Abou Hassan



Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been saved. Comments are moderated and will not appear until approved by the author. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.


Post a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until the author has approved them.

Your Information

(Name and email address are required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)